Montesquieu and Bordeaux

 In Hotel

As part of the series “Les 3 M de Bordeaux”, here is, after our article of October 2018 on Montaigne, a little reminder on Montesquieu

Charles-Louis de Secondat, known as Montesquieu, was born at Château de la Brède, southeast of Bordeaux, on January 18, 1689. His parents chose a beggar as his godfather so that he would remember that the poor are our brothers.

As a child, he studied with a tutor, then, at the age of 11, he went to the Oratorian college of Juilly, near Meaux. Back in Bordeaux five years later, he studied law there, so that he could take over from his uncle as judge (“président à mortier”) at the Bordeaux parliament. He completed his training in Paris in learned and literate circles.

He is 24 years old at the death of his father. As was the custom, his sisters and brother are placed in religious orders so that the patrimony remains in the hands of the eldest of the family.

In 1714, at the age of 25, he became a councillor at the Parliament of Guyenne. One year later, on April 30, 1715, he married Jeanne de Lartigue in Bordeaux. She is from a rich Protestant family, recently ennobled and brings him a beautiful dowry.

At the age of 27, he entered the Academy of Sciences of Bordeaux and founded an anatomy prize. He writes memoirs on the kidney glands, echo, gravity, ebb and flow and other scientific subjects. He also published a Dissertation on the politics of the Romans in religion. His uncle dies and Montesquieu inherits his office as president of mortar, his fortune and his title of baron.

In 1721, he publishes anonymously Les Lettres Persanes, a satirical epistolary novel. He makes fun of French society through two fictitious Persians, Usbek and Rica, who visit France from 1712 to 1720, and ridicules the habits, manias, prejudices and abuses going on in France. The exoticism brought by these two Persians and the biting and witty portraits painted in the novel make it a huge success. This opens the doors of the literary salons in Paris. As a result, between 1721 and 1728, he lived in Paris several months a year.

In 1724, he published the Dialogue of Sylla and Eucrate, then a treatise On the universal monarchy in Europe. Finally, various writings on the historical, legal and political question of the French constitution.

In 1728, he was elected to the French Academy (chair n°2), then travelled throughout Europe, in Austria, Hungary, the Italian Republics, Germany, Holland and England where he was initiated into freemasonry. What will be worth to him to be worried by the intendant of Guyenne and the cardinal of Fleury, in 1737.

For 14 years he devoted himself to writing the Esprit des Lois, a treatise on political science which appeared in 1748. In it, he denounced despotism, slavery, torture and all abuses. He advocated moderation and freedom. He set out his thoughts on the separation of powers of the State. It is his innovative ideas that helped define the principle of Western democracies.

This immense work tires him and his health deteriorates. He becomes almost blind: “I confess that this work thought it would kill me. I’m going to rest, I won’t work anymore” he wrote to a friend in 1749. But he took up the pen again, in response to criticism, and wrote the Defense of the Spirit of the Laws (1750).

He died in Paris on February 10, 1755.

If you want to find in Bordeaux the traces of Montesquieu, click on this link ⬇it will allow you to walk in his footsteps…

https://www.si-graves-montesquieu.fr/le-baron-de-la-brede/la-baronnie-bordeaux-et-au-dela/39-sur-les-p as-de-montesquieu-a-bordeaux#

Recent Posts

Montesquieu et Bordeaux

 In Hôtel

Dans le cadre de la série “Les 3 M de Bordeaux”, voici, après notre article du mois d’octobre 2018 sur Montaigne, un petit rappel sur Montesquieu

Charles-Louis de Secondat, dit Montesquieu, est né au Château de la Brède, au sud-est de Bordeaux, le 18 janvier 1689. Ses parents lui choisissent un mendiant pour parrain afin qu’il se souvienne que les pauvres sont nos frères.

Enfant, il étudie avec un précepteur, puis, à 11 ans, il part au collège oratorien de Juilly, près de Meaux. De retour à Bordeaux cinq ans plus tard, il y étudie le droit, afin de pouvoir prendre la suite de son oncle en tant que juge (“président à mortier”) au parlement de Bordeaux. Il complète sa formation à Paris dans les milieux savants et lettrés.

Il a 24 ans au décès de son père. Comme c’était l’usage, ses soeurs et son frère sont placés dans des ordres religieux afin que le patrimoine reste aux mains de l’aîné de la famille.
En 1714, à 25 ans, il devient conseiller au Parlement de Guyenne. Un an plus tard, le 30 avril 1715, il épouse à Bordeaux Jeanne de Lartigue. Elle est d’une riche famille protestante, récemment anoblie et lui apporte une belle dot.

À 27 ans, il entre à l’Académie des Sciences de Bordeaux et fonde un prix d’anatomie. Il écrit des mémoires sur les glandes rénales, l’écho, la pesanteur, le flux et le reflux et autres sujets scientifiques. Il publie également une ​Dissertation sur la politique des Romains dans la religion​. Son oncle meurt et Montesquieu hérite de sa charge de président à mortier, de sa fortune et de son titre de baron.

En 1721, il publie anonymement ​Les Lettres Persanes,​ un roman épistolaire satirique. Il s’amuse de la société française par le biais de deux Persans fictifs, Usbek et Rica, qui visitent la France de 1712 à 1720. Il ridiculise les habitudes, les manies, les préjugés et les abus en cours en France. L’exotisme apporté par ces deux Persans et les portraits mordants et spirituels brossés dans le roman en font un énorme succès. Ce qui lui ouvre les portes des salons littéraires de Paris. De ce fait, entre 1721 et 1728, il habite à Paris plusieurs mois par an.

En 1724, il publie le ​Dialogue de Sylla et d’Eucrate, ​puis un traité ​De la monarchie universelle en Europe.​ Enfin, différents écrits sur la question historique, juridique et politique de la constitution française.

En 1728, il est élu à l’Académie Française (fauteuil n°2), puis voyage à travers l’Europe, en Autriche, en Hongrie, dans les Républiques Italiennes, en Allemagne, en Hollande et en Angleterre où il est initié à la franc-maçonnerie. Ce qui lui vaudra d’être inquiété par l’intendant de Guyenne et le cardinal de Fleury, en 1737.

Il se consacre​ pendant 14 ans ​à l’écriture de l​’Esprit des Lois, ​un traité des sciences politiques qui paraît en 1748. Il y dénonce le despotisme, l’esclavage, la torture et tous les abus. Il prône la modération et la liberté. Il expose sa réflexion sur la séparation des pouvoirs de l’État. Ce sont ses idées novatrices qui ont contribué à définir le principe des démocraties occidentales.

Ce travail immense le fatigue et sa santé se dégrade. Il devient presque aveugle : “J’avoue que cet ouvrage a pensé me tuer. Je vais me reposer, je ne travaillerai plus” écrit-il à un ami en 1749. Mais il reprend la plume, pour répondre aux critiques et rédige la​ Défense de l’Esprit des Lois ​(1750).

Il meurt à Paris le 10 février 1755.

Si vous voulez trouver dans Bordeaux les traces de Montesquieu, cliquez sur ce lien ⬇qui vous permettra de marcher sur ses pas…
https://www.si-graves-montesquieu.fr/le-baron-de-la-brede/la-baronnie-bordeaux-et-au-dela/39-sur-les-p as-de-montesquieu-a-bordeaux#

Recent Posts