The Medoc lakes

 In Hotel

Far from the noise of the city or, in season, from the summer crowd of the beaches, the lakes of the Médoc are a haven of peace, wild and preserved, between ocean and forest.

THE LAKE OF HOURTIN-CARCANS

This lake is the largest freshwater lake in France (about 60 km², 18 km long, 5 km wide). Surrounded by white sand dunes, forest and wild marshes, it shelters a magnificent fauna and flora. The D107, before arriving at Maubuisson, offers a superb view of the lake. You can discover this lake on foot, for example by the Gracieuse trail between Bombannes and Hourtin (13 km). Be careful : the old cycle track is partially broken, so walking shoes are preferable to cycling.
👉https://www.visorando.com/randonnee-la-piste-de-la-gracieuse-bombannes-hourt/#component=ajax&task=showPhoto&idPhoto=69121

By mountain bike, follow the trail of the lake in Maubuisson, a family walk of 4 km, which can also be done on foot, and will take you to Bombannes. Take advantage of the return trip to ride along the bike path. Another bike tour: La Boucle des Cavalles, 17 km long, will make you discover the lake, the forest and the ocean.
👉https://www.france-voyage.com/balades/lac-hourtin-carcans-landmark-30859.htm

But the most magical one is undoubtedly the discovery by canoe! There is no noise except the one of the paddles splitting the water and the singing of the birds, especially if you take the canal which crosses the natural reserve of Cousseau and links the lake of Hourtin-Carcans to the one of Lacanau. The blog below gives you an overview of the wonders to discover by canoe, between the lake of Lacanau and the lake of Hourtin-Carcans: http://www.lacdelacanau.com/archives/2009/06/07/13989384.html
See also on YouTube the video of Cap SudOuest: http://www.lacdelacanau.com/archives/2009/06/07/13989384.html

Crédit photo : https://www.gironde-tourisme.fr/itineraires/le-sentier-de-la-berle-un-sentier-naturellement-fun/

THE LAKE OF LACANAU

Located further south, this lake extends over 20 km² between maritime pines, gorse, broom and marshes. The fauna and flora are remarkable: swans, grey herons, cormorants, ducks, birds of prey… A marked out path starting from Longarisse allows to admire the most beautiful bay of the lake. It is possible to rent a stand-up paddle or a canoe to access the islands of the lake.
👉http://www.lacdelacanau.com/archives/2007/09/26/6339799.html

The Berle trail leaves from Lacanau town and leads through the forest of pines, oaks and birches to the observatory on the lake shore. The return trail will take you through the marshes.
👉https://www.gironde-tourisme.fr/itineraires/le-sentier-de-la-berle-un-sentier-naturellement-fun/

A vast network of bicycle paths also criss-crosses the region: https://lacanauocean.com/fr/velo-lacanau.htm
It is also possible to explore the lake by catamaran or traditional pinasse!

Whatever your choice of transportation to explore these lakes and this unspoiled wilderness, you won’t regret it 😊

 

Recommended Posts

Les lacs du Médoc

 In Hôtel

Loin du bruit de la ville ou, en saison, de la foule estivale des plages, les lacs du Médoc sont un havre de paix, sauvage et préservé, entre océan et forêt.

LE LAC D’HOURTIN-CARCANS

Ce lac est le plus grand lac d’eau douce de France (environ 60 km², 18 km de long, 5 km de large). Entouré de dunes de sable blanc, de forêt et de marais sauvages, il abrite une faune et une flore magnifiques. La D107, avant d’arriver à Maubuisson, offre un superbe point de vue d’ensemble sur le lac. Vous pouvez découvrir ce lac à pied, par exemple par la piste de la Gracieuse entre Bombannes et Hourtin (13 km). Attention : l’ancienne piste cyclable est partiellement défoncée, les chaussures de marche sont donc préférables au vélo.
👉https://www.visorando.com/randonnee-la-piste-de-la-gracieuse-bombannes-hourt/#component=ajax&task=showPhoto&idPhoto=69121

En VTT, suivez le sentier du lac à Maubuisson, balade familiale de 4 km, qui peut également se faire à pied, et vous emmènera jusqu’à Bombannes. Profitez du retour pour longer la piste cyclable. Autre circuit à vélo : La Boucle des Cavalles, de 17 km, vous fera découvrir le lac, la forêt et l’océan.
👉https://www.france-voyage.com/balades/lac-hourtin-carcans-landmark-30859.htm

Mais la plus magique reste sans conteste la découverte en canoë ! Aucun bruit si ce n’est celui des pagaies qui fendent l’eau et le chant des oiseaux, surtout si vous empruntez le canal qui traverse la réserve naturelle de Cousseau et relie le lac d’Hourtin-Carcans à celui de Lacanau. Le blog ci-dessous vous donne un aperçu des merveilles à découvrir en canoë, entre le lac de Lacanau et celui d’Hourtin-Carcans : http://www.lacdelacanau.com/archives/2009/06/07/13989384.html
Voir également sur YouTube la vidéo de Cap SudOuest : http://www.lacdelacanau.com/archives/2009/06/07/13989384.html

Crédit photo : https://www.gironde-tourisme.fr/itineraires/le-sentier-de-la-berle-un-sentier-naturellement-fun/

LE LAC DE LACANAU

Situé plus au sud, ce lac s’étend sur 20 km² entre pins maritimes, ajoncs, genêts et marais. La faune et la flore y sont remarquables : cygnes, hérons cendrés, cormorans, canards, rapaces… Un sentier balisé au départ de Longarisse permet d’admirer la plus belle baie du lac. Il est possible de louer un stand-up paddle ou un canoë pour accéder aux îles du lac.
👉http://www.lacdelacanau.com/archives/2007/09/26/6339799.html

Le sentier de la Berle part de Lacanau ville et mène dans la forêt de pins, chênes et boulots à l’observatoire au bord du lac. Le sentier du retour vous fera traverser les marais.
👉https://www.gironde-tourisme.fr/itineraires/le-sentier-de-la-berle-un-sentier-naturellement-fun/

Un vaste réseau de pistes cyclables sillonne également la région : https://lacanauocean.com/fr/velo-lacanau.htm
Il est aussi possible d’explorer le lac en catamaran ou en pinasse traditionnelle !

Quel que soit votre choix de transport pour explorer ces lacs et cette région sauvage et préservée, vous ne le regretterez pas 😊

 

Recommended Posts